World Premiere · Steingrimur Rohloff

Steingrimur Rohloff's 'Die 4 Himmelsrichtungen' is premiered 11 September by Messiaen Quartet Copenhagen, kicking off season 20/21 in Østerbro Koncertforening.

Steingrimur Rohloff's Die 4 Himmelsrichtungen  a new piece for clarinet, violin, cello, and piano was commissioned by Messiaen Quartet Copenhagen.

Die 4 Himmelsrichtungen is a virtuoso, lyrical and colourful piece in three movements. The piece was scheduled to be premiered in March, but due to Covid19 the premiere was postponed, Now - at last - the piece can be performed for an audience. 

 “When we asked Steingrimur which composer he wanted to conjoin his piece with, he immediately answered Stravinsky," the quartet explains about the concert programme. "Stravinsky wrote The Soldier's Tale in collaboration with the author C.F. Ramuz in 1918 –  at play for three actors, dancers, accompanied by seven musicians. The following year, Stravinsky rewrote the piece as a trio version”.

This trio version of Suite from 
The Soldier's Tale (1918) will be performed alongside Rohloff's quartet, Debussy and solo piano pieces by Stravinsky. 

Steingrimur Rohloff: Die 4 Himmelsrichtungen
Performed by Messiaen Quartet Copenhagen
11 September 19:30
Østerbro Koncertforening
Info and tickets