Danish premiere · Allan Gravgaard Madsen · SUITE

Allan Gravgaard Madsen has been collaborating with the widely acclaimed German ensemble recherche since 2013 and now they will perform his ‘SUITE’ in five movements for the first time in Denmark. Simultaneously the piece is recomposed by a music machine!

Allan Gravgaard Madsen. Photo: Malthe Folke Ivarsson

Allan Gravgaard Madsen's SUITE is a continuation of the tradition of Johann Sebastian Bach's Orchestral Suites and all the titles are inspired by the titles in the suites by Bach. You might even trace just a slight shadow of Bach's music beneath Gravgaard Madsen’s strict and quiet compositions.

“I like to work with shadows and distortion in my music,” Allan Gravgaard Madsen says. “I also like to work with registers on the instruments so they sound similar. In that way they become a doppelgänger of each other and sound alike - without being the same.”

While Gravgaard Madsen's SUITE might be called a recomposition of Bach's music, at KLANG festival this again is recomposed by a music machine constructed by composer and sound artist Morten Riis, Electro Mechanical Loudspeaker Orchestra. Allan Gravgaard Madsen explains: ”Thus the merged movements appear as a mix of past, present and future, of traditional and experimenting classical music as well as electronic music/sound art”.

Allan Gravgaard Madsen has implemented an accelerando throughout SUITE, and the durations of the movements go from the opening Ouverture’s 10 calm minutes to the closing Réjouissance with a duration of one single second. 

I am very fascinated by the accelerando-form, because it can be a way to keep the tension up throughout a piece,” Gravgaard Madsen tells. 

The accelerando-form is inverted in the recomposition by Morten Riis, and for the concerts at KLANG festival the two pieces are performed as one coherent work alternating between SUITE and the recomposition one movement at a time.

Ouverture involves the whole ensemble of 8 musicians. It was commissioned and premiered by ensemble recherche as a separate work at Ultraschall Berlin in 2017. Air I and Air II are revised versions of the piece Allan Gravgaard Madsen wrote for the ensemble when he took part in their Klassen-Arbeit project in 2014-2015. Gigueis written for three winds and percussion, and Réjouissance again involves all 8 musicians in ensemble recherche.

Time & place
Allan Gravgaard Madsen: SUITE & Morten Riis: Suite for Electro Mechanical Loudspeaker Orchestra 
ensemble recherche 
Tuesday 3 November, KoncertKirken, Copenhagen Info & tickets
Wednesday 4 November, Musikhuset, Aarhus Info & tickets