Dronning Louise Vals

H.C. Lumbye
Symphony orchestra
B4, 40 pages

During his extensive career, Lumbye composed a number of marches and waltzes that were specifically dedicated to Denmark’s house of royalty. Among his later works in this group is the waltz suite from 1868, which follows the traditional pattern: an introductory Entré followed by four waltzes and a coda that repeats the melody from Waltz no. 1. The suite was composed for the German-born Queen Louise (1817-1898). In 1842, she had married the Danish Prince Christian (1818-1906) and she subsequently became Queen of Denmark upon her husband’s accession to the throne as King Christian IX in 1863.

The work is published here in a critical scholarly edition for the first time. It has been pieced together and written out on the basis of the oldest surviving complete set of parts, which date from the beginning of the twentieth century. Lumbye’s autograph score was, in all probability, consumed by the Schalburgtage-incited fire that engulfed Tivoli’s Concert Hall on the night between the 24th and the 25th of June 1944.

The Queen Louise Waltz is published by the Danish Centre for Music Publication of the Royal Library in cooperation with Edition·S – music¬sound¬art.


  • Score DKK120.00(USD ~20.75 · EURO ~16.00) ?
    (Prices incl. VAT)

    The comment field can be used to add your own dealer reference, title ID, or catalogue number. This will be displayed as part of your order overview at checkout.

For information about our rental prices, please contact the Rentals Department: ingelise@edition-s.dk.

If you have any questions or difficulties, please do not hesitate to contact us by email or phone +45 33 13 54 45.

QR Code