Asger Hamerik
String quartet
2-8 instr
B4, 20 pages

Asger Hamerik (1843-1923) spent most of his composing career abroad – in Germany and France initially and later in America, where he was director of the conservatory and music society in Baltimore for many years. He composed symphonies, operas and chamber music, and he made an effort to promote Nordic composers in American musical life.

Qvartetto for strings is an early work, composed in 1859, the year he decided to abandon his original plan of studying theology and instead started composition studies with Niels W. Gade and J.P.E. Hartmann. The fact that the score exists in a fair copy, perhaps written by a professional copyist, could suggest that it was one of the works he presented during his early compositional activities.

Asger Hamerik was the brother of musicologist Angul Hammerich and the cousin of composer C.F.E. Horneman, as well as being related to Emma Hartmann, J.P.E. Hartmann's first wife.

The quartet is published by the Danish Centre for Music Publication of the Royal Library in cooperation with Edition·S – music¬sound¬art.

OTHER WORKS BY Asger Hamerik



  • Parts DKK175.00(€ ~23.50)
    (Prices incl. 25% EU VAT)
  • Score DKK200.00(€ ~26.75)
    (Prices incl. 25% EU VAT)

    The comment field can be used to add your own dealer reference, title ID, or catalogue number. This will be displayed as part of your order overview at checkout.

QR Code