Multiple Forms

Ivar Frounberg
for 5 orchestral groups
Symphony orchestra
A3, 31 pages

Ivar Frounberg’s first three major orchestral works were written in a short span of years between 1986 and 1989. Especially the first two, Multiple Forms and What did the Sirens Sing as Ulysses Sailed by, share one basic idea. This concerns an attempt to open up the concept of musical form, so that the work we hear is no longer just one continuing narrative but contains a number of possibilities and potential combinations. Despite its title, Multiple Forms from 1986 is still one fully composed process; however, the ever-changing combination of five orchestral groups and the material they develop constitute a music that takes place in many different directions, and with many possible constellations and eventually confrontations between the individual events – not unlike the French film director Jean-Luc Godard’s claim that a motion picture should have a beginning, a middle, and an end but not necessarily in that order. The five orchestral groups are (1) three flutes (including alto), three oboes (including cor anglais), three clarinets (including bass clarinet), six violas, and four double basses, (2) two bassoons, four horns, and six cellos, (3) three trumpets and three trombones (including bass trombone), (4) vibraphone, marimba, celeste, harp, and piano, and (5) 18 violins.


  • Score DKK315.00(€ ~42.25)
    (Prices incl. 25% EU VAT)



For information about our rental prices, please contact the Rentals Department:

If you have any questions or difficulties, please do not hesitate to contact us by email or phone +45 33 13 54 45.

QR Code