Martin Stauning (b. 1982)

Martin Stauning writes intense and evocative music. His works always have an immediate and sensuous quality demonstrating Stauning's distinctive, personal, lyrical expression.

His works are often characterized by a duality. He frequently explores the tremendously dramatic and intense expression with large volume and clear form, immediately engaging and challenging the listener. And he manages to turn that expression around, gradually dissolving the structure so that the music practically seeks within itself in a quiet dream world of beautiful soundscapes.

His works have been performed by orchestras and ensembles such as The Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Modern Academy, Mivos Quartet, Athelas Sinfonietta, Ensemble Storstrøm, SCENATET, Cikada String Quartet, Neo Quartet and Nordic String Quartet.

Originally educated and worked as a dancer at The Royal Danish Ballet in Copenhagen, Martin Stauning is a graduate of The Royal Danish Academy of Music and a pupil of Hans Abrahamsen, Bent Sørensen and Niels Rosing-Schow. Martin has also served as the chairman of UNM Denmark, the Danish branch of the pan-Nordic annual festival for young sound artists, Young Nordic Music.

Martin Stauning is the recipient of the H.C. Lumbye / Agerby Grant 2018, The Carl Prize 2017, Léonie Sonning Talent Prize 2016, Axel Borup-Jørgensen Composer Prize 2015. Martin also received a grant from the Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen Grant, Margrethe Axelsson's Grant, Robert Russel's Memorial Grant and an artists residency from Dansk Tennis Fond and Danish-American National Cultural Exchange (dance).

Press photo
Download high resolution press photo by Caroline Bittencourt
Download high resolution press photo by Caroline Bittencourt

Articles and reviews
Interview Seismograf 29.09.2016
Review Debut Concert Politiken 07.10.2016
Find relevant reviews by separate works