Line Tjørnhøj (b. 1960)

Line Tjørnhøj describes the voice as basic to the human sound universe with its immediate access to our ears and emotions. She typically deals with timeless problems and emotions via stories from our own time. She is well known for dealing with cruel subjects where men and women are challenged to the utmost as a consequence of the misuse of power in its various forms. She exploits the soothing quality and beauty of the voice to establish a space for the impossible and painful stories she has narrated in the course of her career as a composer.

She works collaboratively with the performers for which her works are created, insisting that the individual elements of a performance are all interrelated.

Tjørnhøj studied composition at The Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus with Simon Steen-Andersen, Niels Rønsholdt and Lasse Laursen. 

She has received the prestigious Carl Nielsen and Anne Marie Carl-Nielsen Foundation's Prize (2017), the three year working grant from the Danish Arts Foundation and the Danish Composers’ Society Grant among others. Her opera Anorexia Sacra was awarded best chamber opera by the American Opera Vista Festival, 2009. 

Her works has been played by renowned ensembles and orchestras as Göteborg Operan, Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Ars Nova Copenhagen, Ensemble Lydenskab, Esbjerg Ensemble amongst other.

Selected works:

Shanghai (2017)
chamber opera

TUSK (2015-16) 
for solo voice, mixed 
choir, and orchestra

Art vox reportage (2013-2014) 
a capella choir, SATB

Tomorrow’s Child (2011) 
music drama for female voice, cello, tape, live electronics

Anorexia Sacra (2006) 
music drama for 5 female voices, male voice, double bass